A look back and the year ahead

Generally I don’t make resolutions, but I had one New Year’s resolution for 2012: to be a published author by the time I turned 40 (that milestone happened in November!!!). I’ve always considered myself a writer, with the half full notebooks and head full of characters to prove it, but I’d never actually completed anything or showed it to anyone outside a few creative writing courses. It was time to bite the bullet I decided back in January 2012, and where better to start than with my obsession of the last few years — M/M romance?

Much to my surprise, Dreamspinner Press picked up not one, but two of my novellas: Fourth and Long in June, and Inseparable in December. It was such a thrill to receive that first check–the amount didn’t even matter–and the first email I got from a reader brought tears to my eyes. The creative juices have been flowing ever since; so much so, that with a full time job I find it hard to get things down on paper. I also made a deal with myself that if this whole writing thing started to work out and I decided to continue with it, that I would start a blog (another thing I hadn’t done before). So here we are 🙂

My plans for this blog specifically are to talk about what I’m working on, my writing process, and just generally things that inspire me. It will probably be pretty boring to begin with, but bear with me.

So what do I have planned for 2013? My short story “The Bodyguard’s Dilemma” will be part of Dreamspinner’s Snow on the Roof anthology in Feb. 2013 (I’ll talk more about this story in an upcoming post); I’m hoping to have a sequel to Inseparable (Joe’s story this time) ready by spring; and I desperately need to buckle down and finish the historical romance I’ve been lazily working on for the past year. I’ve got a couple of other ideas in the works as well, so if time permits I may start to work on those as well.

It’s a scary thing to do…throw your thoughts and characters out there and hope people like them. I get anxious every time I hit the Send button. So thank you to anyone who has taken the time to read and/ or review me. Wishing you all the best for 2013.

This entry was posted in My stories, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A look back and the year ahead

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Sounds like you have a plan, which always helps. Good luck with your writing.

    Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

