Year Five

It’s hard to believe that 2017 marks my fifth year as a published author. All my major life events, from house moves to jobs, have been based around 5- and 10-year plans, so this year I have some thinking to do on where I go from here. At the moment, I’m in a new job that’s using up a lot of brain power and struggling to stay creative. It’s the first time in five years that I’m wrapping up editing on a project, and I don’t have the next one lined up ready to go. More and more I find myself wondering if writing is worth it.

I never went into this adventure looking to get rich. I knew my limitations from the start; I’m terrible at self-promotion, I have a full time job, I’m slow, and I don’t write what sells. I had no illusions. I can’t compete with an author who pumps out four or more books a year. Money is not what’s bringing me down. It’s the other stuff I find soul-sucking, like:

  • the expanding threat of plagiarism and “pop-up” authors out to scam the system
  • genre drama that brings legitimate writers down
  • the instability of indie publishers and etailers and questionable professionalism
  • piracy and a general lack of value for other people’s work
  • proliferation of readers who will read anything as long as it only costs 99 cents

Do Not Disturb"" sign on hotel room's door2016 was a brutal year in my genre with respect to the above, and I’m not sure 2017 will be better. I’ll explore these areas more throughout the year, as well as my attempts to get my groove back.

In the meantime, looking at 2017, I started out the year releasing a self-published short story collection of erotic (steamy) romances. Do Not Disturb is available at Amazon and Kobo.

backtoyou_200x300And in June, my second novel with Riptide will be released. It’s called Back to You, and is a romantic suspense I’m pretty proud of. It marks a move toward more mainstream fiction for me. More on that to come.

This entry was posted in Opinion, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year Five

  1. Carolyn says:

    I can totally understand all the drawbacks you understand, even just from a reader’s point of view. I can’t imagine what it feels like from an author’s, when you’ve put so much into creating such wonderful stories. I hope whatever decisions you make going forward are the best for you. You already know I love your stories, but it never hurts to say it again.

Leave a Reply

